I do like the Top Ten Tuesday meme, hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, though I have never joined in before. This week’s topic “Authors I Discovered in 2023” has broken the duck. In contemplating this I discovered that there are, in fact, 10 authors I discovered last year with second or even thirds reads already sitting in my TBR, plenty of which qualify for next month’s #ReadIndies event! Fortuitous timing of a meme, if ever there was one.

Are you all sorted for #ReadIndies?

Authors and the books I read (books in the TBR) Links to my reviews. Asterisk denotes potential #ReadIndies selections.

Ludwig Bemelmans – Hotel Splendide (To The One I Love The Best*)

Franz Fühmann – Experiencing The Georg Trakl Poem (The Jew Car* / Science Fiktion*)

Katya Hoyer – Beyond The Wall (Blood and Iron)

Karmele Jaio – Her Mother’s Hands (Her Father’s House*)

Maylis De Kerangal – Eastbound (Painting Time / Canoes)

R F Kuang – Yellowface (Babel)

Seicho Matsumoto – Tokyo Express (Point Zero*)

Karen Powell – Fifteen Wild Decembers (The River Within*)

Brigitte Reimann – Siblings (I Have No Regrets*/ It All Tastes of Farewell*)

Alan Warner – Nothing Left To Fear From Hell (Kitchenly 434)

Are there any TBR titles I should be prioritising?