Here we are once more to support independent publishers by reading and reviewing their fantastic output. Trading conditions haven’t got any easier for Indy publishers since Karen and I launched Reading Independent Publishers Month in 2021, and so we hope you’ve got your book stacks all ready to dive into.

I’ll quickly recap on the two rules that apply to #ReadIndies: 

  • Reading material (whichever format, whichever language) must come from publishers, who are currently operating as independents.
  • Self-published titles are not eligible.

There will be no Mr Linky this year, so please alert us to your reviews by using the #ReadIndies hashtag on your social media platform of choice, or by leaving a link in comments below.

What am I planning to read?

I have a TBR that could keep me exclusively reading indies for 12-months and beyond.  So I am spoiled for choice.  To cut it down I have decided to align with the spirit of this year’s badge and restrict myself to books by small publishers, though not necessarily those in the Indie Press Network. 

What is most unusual Karen and I have identified a title we have in common: Lady Molly of Scotland Yard by Baroness Emmuska Orczy, published by Renard Press. (ISBN 9781804470718), which we’re going to buddy read and review on 29th February. All welcome to join in.

Talking of Renard Press, do pop back later today for my interview with Will Dady, founder of Renard Press and the Small Indie Network. It’s very enlightening about the pressures small publishers face and makes me really proud to be supporting them through Reading Independent Publishers Month.