Although the universe has torpedoed all my spring travel plans, stolen almost all of my reviewing time and 70% of my reading time, it has not dented acquisition capacity. And so I thought I’d treat you to a couple of handsome ….. bookstacks.

Go on, swoon over these.

The stack on the left consists of books I was intending to read for the European Literary Festival in May. The stack on the right is the result of a little retail therapy in response to the family health crisis. (Makeup overall is about 75% purchases:25% review copies.) They are stacked a little idiosyncratically by word title length: on the left ascending from top to bottom, on the right ascending from bottom to top. Which could be an interpretation of the topsy-turvy nature of life at the moment, I suppose.

Anyway, once I have finished my 792-page read for the #1937club (150 pages to go), I intend working my way through these stacks by title length. Picking the most appealing one word title, then the most appealing two word title and so forth. This should keep me occupied/entertained/distracted until June, when hopefully normal reading and reviewing schedules will resume.